top of page

5 Ways to Explore Southern Saskatchewan (and my first YouTube video!)

Hello everyone! How are you all doing today? It has been awhile since my first post here on this blog. I am excited to bring you an update... I RELEASED MY FIRST YOUTUBE VIDEO!!! This is something I have wanted to do for years, so finally after receiving access to proper editing equipment, I was able to complete my goal. Check it out here

Today I would like to talk about the trip featured in the above video, my adventure to the Badlands. My family and I took a day road trip around southern Saskatchewan, stopping by Rouleau (Dog River- Corner Gas), Ogema, Coronach and the badlands them self, Castle Butte.

This was my first time exploring this area of my beautiful home province Saskatchewan and I must say, I am impressed! I saw golden wheat fields, rolling green hills, bushy corn fields, and the most gorgeous sunset! See for yourself!

1. Rouleau (a.k.a. Dog River of Corner gas)

On our first stop we are taking a trip to the set of one of Saskatchewan's most famous television series, Corner Gas! If you are not familiar with this show, you have gotta check it out

(episodes on YouTube). You are in for a real treat of good old prairie humour. Hahaha I'm still laughing, (sigh) that show really cracks me up! You can imagine my joy when I got to walk around the town of Rouleau and see some of the familiar places. Even if you are not familiar with the t.v. show, Rouleau is a lovely little town on the prairies.

2. Ogema

This next place is great to stop in for lunch or maybe a train ride. If you enjoy Italian food (who doesn't?) try Solo Italia which offers authentic pizza! Walking down Main street you will find the historic train station The Southern Prairie Railway, where you can take a ride from Ogema to the town of Pangman. As you can see, this sure is a nice and peaceful place to check out.

3. the fields

Alright, I know this is not a distinct location, but I just had to mention the beautiful nature side of Saskatchewan. If you are a city girl (or boy) like myself, take this opportunity to get out and explore the wide open vast landscape. Driving along the highway, there are tons of things to see that you just don't experience in the city. Don't be afraid to pullover and simply take a walk, it's a great way to relieve stress and relax (not to mention take some epic photos.

4. Castle Butte

If you are searching for a good view of Saskatchewan, this will not dissapoint. This incredible 55-kilometer-long valley is filled with "big muddy" sandstone hills. It makes for an excellent place to hike, just bring your running shoes, water bottle, and your determination!

For more detailed information, check out Sask Tourism here:

5. Coronach

Looking for a nice place to cool off after that long and intense hike? Welcome to Coronach, the friendly town right near Castle Butte. This community has an awesome pool where you can splash around on a hot summer day. They also offer guided tours of Castle Butte so be sure to stop in at the tourism office for more information on that.

That wraps up my experience of a fun little Saskatchewan road trip. Thanks for reading! See you on the next adventure...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page